At the Liburnia Jazz Festival, we will have the opportunity to hear the exclusive premiere of the latest production of the Big Band of RTV Slovenia, whose premiere will take place in the fall at Cankarjev dom in Ljubljana. For its cycle this year, the Big Band chose the music of Elvis Stanić, arranged by Aleš Abelj, one of the best arrangers in the region. The Big Band will be joined by members of the Elvis Stanić Group (Branimir Gazdik, Goran Rukavina, Maasej Kovačević and Elvis Stanić.

The Big Band of Slovenian Radio-Television exist continuously since 1945 and is proud of the fact that it is among the oldest orchestras of its kind in the world. Beginnings and first successes can be largely attributed to Bojan Adamič (1912–1995), a conductor and composer who brought together musicians and founded the Big Band.

In 1961, the young Jože Privšek (1937-1998) took over the direction. Under Privšek, the orchestra then known as Dance Orchestra of Radio Ljubljana, developed into a top band that dominated the scene of the former Yugoslavia, but also received high accolades abroad. In 1978, the band won the German Deutsche Phono Akademie award for best record, winning a competition among rivals such as James Last and the Max Greger Orchestra. Created the conditions for the development of leading soloists, who for decades represented the pillars of the Slovenian jazz scene: Petar Ugrin, Andrej Arnol, Tone Janša, Silvester Stingl, Ratko Divjak, Ladislav Rebrek, Milan Ferlež, Primož Grašič.

The Big Band of RTV Slovenia hosted some of the greatest jazz composers (Peter Herbolzheimer, Mercer Ellington, Maria Schneider, Jerry van Rooyen, Carla Bley, Herb Pomeroy, Mathias Rüegg, Miljenko Prohaska, David Murray, George Lewis, Bill Holman, Michael Abene, Bob Mintzer, Lars Møller, Ryan Truesdell) and soloists of our time (Clark Terry, Stjepko Gut, Johnny Griffin, Ack van Rooyen, Toots Thielemans, NHØ. Pedersen, Diane Schuur, Jiggs Whigham, Jon Hendricks, Albert Mangelsdorf, Nancy Marano, Bobby Shew, Mario Gonzi, Dusko Gojkovic, Bosko Petrovic, John Riley, Dennis Mackrel, Bojan Z, Eric Vloeimans, Peter Erskine, Ronnie Cuber, Mads Vinding, Mike Stern, Chris Minh Dokey, New York Voices, Bart van Lier, Patti Austin , Ernie Watts, Nicholas Payton, Kurt Elling, Mario Biondi, Seamus Blake, James Carter).

Friday, 09. 07. 2021., 21:30 h , Open Air Theatre